Monday, July 30, 2007

Jazz Euphoirium July 25, 2007: Interview with Cecil's Ground

Host: Lawrence Joseph

Two members of Montreal's own Cecil's Ground, Jaisu (piano) and Phil (trumpet) discuss and play their Tomasz Stanko/ECM influenced music, along with music from their collection (Cecil Taylor, Tomasz Stanko, Frith/Zorn, Spring Heel Jack, etc.)

Wednesday, July 04, 2007

Playlist July 4, 2007

Host: Lawrence Joseph

Anthony Braxton's Ghost Trance Music

1. Anthony Braxton
Composition No 222, for violin and piano.

Rachel Thompson violin
Eric Ronich piano

Album: Four Compositions (Washington DC) 1998; Braxton House

2. Anthony Braxton Quintet
Composition No 287

Anthony Braxton: Reeds
Scott Rosenberg: Reeds
John Shiurba: Guitar
Mathew Sperry Bass
Gino Robair: Percission, Piano, Electronics

Album: Six Compositions (GTM) 2001; Rastacan

3. Anthony Braxton 12(+1)-tet
Composition No. 356

Mary Halvorson - electric guitar;
Nicole Mitchell - flute, alto and bass flutes, piccolo, voice;
Sara Schoenbeck - bassoon, suona;
Reut Regev - trombone, flugelbone;
Carl Testa - acoustic bass, bass clarinet;
Anthony Braxton - alto, soprano, and sopranino saxophones, clarinet, Eb contralto clarinet;
James Fei - alto and soprano saxophones, clarinet, bass clarinet;
Andrew Raffo Dewar - soprano and c-melody saxophones, clarinet;
Jay Rozen - tuba, euphonium;
Stephen H. Lehman - alto and sopranino saxophones;
Jessica Pavone - viola, violin;Aaron Siegel - percussion, vibraphone;
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet, flugelhorn, trumpbone, piccolo and bass trumpets, shell.

Album: Nine Compositions (Iridium) 2006; Firehouse